Kano governor forwards LG caretaker nominees to assembly for screening

Gov. Abba Kabir-Yusuf of Kano State has forwarded the names of Interim Management Committee members for local government areas of the state to its House of Assembly for screening and confirmation.

This is coming three  weeks after the expiration of the tenure of elected local government chairmen in the state.

The Speaker of the Assembly, Ismail Falgore, made the disclosure on Tuesday at plenary while reading the governor’s request letter.

While presenting the message, Majority Leader of the House,  Lawan Hussaini (NNPP-Dala), said the request followed the expiration of the tenure of the elected local government chairmen and their deputies on Feb. 12.

According to him, the list consists of 17 members, including the chairman, vice chairman, and secretary for each of the 44 local government areas of the state.

The majority leader explained that Section 58A of local government law states that, in the event of the expiration of the tenure of the local government council in the state, it became imperative to conduct an election.

The law also stipulated that the governor could appoint sole administrators or caretaker committees to oversee the affairs of the councils for three months.

After deliberations, the house unanimously adopted the motion and set up an ad hoc committee to screen the nominees on Wednesday, March 6.

Similarly, the speaker also read a letter from the governor informing the house of the voluntary resignation of seven members of the Kano State Independent Electoral Commission (KANSIEC).

The governor, thereafter, nominated seven commissioners and a secretary for KANSIEC.

READ ALSO:  Bayelsa LG election: LP’s Eradiri calls for local govt. autonomy

The house committed the nomination letter to its Standing Committee on KANSIEC for necessary legislative action and mandated the committee to submit its report within two days.(NAN)

Related Articles

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!
Verified by MonsterInsights