NUAAE elects new executives

The Nigeria Union of Agriculture and Allied Employees (NUAAE) has elected Mr. Obafemi Oyenubi as its new national president.

Oyenubi was elected with other national executives at the end of the union’s Extraordinary Delegates Conference on Wednesday in Abuja.

The new national executives would run the affairs of the union for the next four years.

Oyenubi, while speaking with newsmen after the swearing-in ceremony, said the new leadership would partner with the federal government to address the hardship on Nigerians by ensuring food availability and price control.

”Our efforts will not be left in doubt in supporting the government of President Bola Tinubu to ensure large food production and effective extension service availability.

“We will also ensure the provision of off-takers for farm produce with good storage facilities,” he said.

Oyenubi said that the union would also engage some foreign investors to support farmers with modern farming equipment such as harvesters, sprayers, planters, chemicals, and tractors.

He explained that the aim was to subsidise inputs for farmers to encourage commercial farming activities for export and local consumption.

According to him, NUAAE will discuss with some state governors the smooth distribution of mechanised tools as palliatives to boost farmers’ crop production.

”We will also collaborate with some banks to give soft loans to genuine farmers to increase export crop production in the country,” Oyenubi said.

He said to ensure smooth operations and the realisation of its goals, NUAAE, under his leadership, would embrace more unions in the agricultural sector that were not under its umbrella for enhanced development of agriculture in the country.

READ ALSO:  Fund: Ojikutu urges FG to prioritise aeronautical services

The NUAAE president, therefore, appealed to any aggrieved members to synergize with the union in developing policies that would shape their activities in the right direction.

He stated that the welfare of members would be prioritized, as they would also engage the federal government in providing incentives such as hazard allowances.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that other members of the executive committee elected were Anedi Ekpo, Deputy President 1, and Amechi Victrus, Vice President South East.

Others were Baba Kaura, Vice President North Central; Ime Akpadia, Vice President South South; Saidat Abubakar, National Women Coordinator; and Adamolekun Ebenezer, Trustee 1, among others. (NAN)

Related Articles

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!
Verified by MonsterInsights